History Of Temple

On July 3, 1946, Dr. Lee Roberson, propelled by a vision of a Bible school where preachers, missionaries, and other Christian workers could receive training, led the Highland Park Baptist Church in the organization of Tennessee Temple Schools. Originally conceived as a two-year college and Bible school, the ministry soon expanded to incorporate a four-year college, Bible school and seminary. University status was achieved in 1979. Tennessee Temple University received full accreditation by the American Association of Bible Colleges (now ABHE) in 1984, and has been accredited by Transnational Association of Christian Colleges and Schools (TRACS), since 2000, having been awarded Reaffirmed status in 2005, which is effective for a period of ten years.

Dr. Lee Roberson served as the first president of Tennessee Temple Schools until 1984 when he began to serve as the chancellor of the University. Dr. Roberson served as Chancellor Emeritus until his graduation to heaven at the age of 97. Succeeding Dr. Roberson in the presidency were men such as Dr. J. R. Faulkner, who had served at the side of Dr. Roberson in the leadership of the church and the school for many years, Dr. J. Don Jennings, Dr. L. W. Nichols, Dr. Roger Stiles, Dr. David E. Bouler, and Dr. Danny Lovett. As of January 2012, Dr. Steve Echols assumed the leadership role as president of Tennessee Temple University. He brings a vast array of experience and proven leadership in both academic and ministerial areas.

Apply Now or
Request Information

Discover why TTU could be the Christian University you have been looking for.Tennessee Temple University Get Started!




TTU Intranet

Student Portal

Faculty Portal